Northwestern Athletics Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2022 Northwestern Athletics Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2022


Seven former student-athletes and a former coach will join the Northwestern Athletic Hall of Fame, the department announced Monday.

“This year’s class represents Northwestern’s absolute best,” Combe Family Vice President for Sports and Recreation Derrick Gragg said in a press release. “They rose to a truly elite level representing Northwestern Athletics and laid the foundation upon which our current programs continue to build.”

Founded in 1984, the NU Athletic Hall of Fame annually inducts a class of former student-athletes, coaches and administrators.

The eight members of the Class of 2022 are:

Emilie Allard, softball

Allard held various positions for the Wildcats from 2010 to 2014, earning All-Big Ten honors four times. A 2011 finalist for United States Softball Player of the Year, Allard holds the Big Ten record for stolen bases with 154.

Bernard “Bernie” Jefferson, footballer

A halfback at NU from 1936 to 1938, Jefferson led the team in scoring during his senior campaign. Among several black college football stars ignored by the NFL in the 1930s, Jefferson founded his own all-black semi-pro football team called the Chicago Brown Bombers. During World War II he flew with the Tuskegee Airmen and earned the Distinguished Flying Cross.

Morgan Lathrop, Lacrosse

A four-year starter, Lathrop led the Wildcats to four consecutive national championships from 2006 to 2009. She was selected three times in all conferences and led NU to an 82-3 record during her time in the cage. She remains the Wildcats’ all-time saves leader.

Mike McMullan, Wrestling

McMullan was named an All-American for all four years at NU, going 103-23 ​​from 2010-15. He made four trips to the NCAA championships and never finished below third place.

Sabel Moffett, volleyball

A 6-foot center blocker, Moffett won two All-Big Ten awards while competing for the Wildcats from 2006 to 2010. She led NU to the second round of the NCAA Tournament in 2010 and finished her career with the best scoring percentage. program history hits.

Georgia Rose, women’s tennis

Rose achieved many feats as a Wildcat from 2005 to 2009: qualified for the NCAA singles championship in the four years of her career, won four All-Big Ten awards and was named player of the 2007 year of the Big Ten.

Dayana Sarkisova, fencing

Sarkisova was a four-time All American for NU from 2009 to 2013 and graduated with 384 total wins – the fourth-most in program history. She was the first-ever Wildcat florist to earn first-team All-America accolades, winning a bronze medal during the 2009-10 season.

Laurie Schiller, fencing coach

The winningest coach in the history of the program, Schiller had a NU record of 1,261-459 from 1978 to 2016. He is one of the most successful coaches in the sport’s collegiate history, earning more wins than all but one coach. He led the Wildcats to 17 consecutive top-ten finishes at the NCAA championships during his 38-year career.

E-mail: [email protected]

Twitter: @charvarnes11

Related stories:

‘A trailblazer almost everywhere I’ve been’: Why Derrick Gragg is uniquely positioned to guide the future of North West athletics

Q&A: Cross Country Coach Jill Miller talks training adjustments and team bonding amid COVID-19

Football: Ryan Fieldhouse sparkles, but his ability to attract rookies is debated


Comments are closed.