Racers face off against Irvin Cobb – Nimmo wins the championship


Hot July golf has been played at the Irvin Cobb Championship for the past 86 years and it was the weekend again at Paxton Park Golf Course in Paducah, Kentucky. The Cobb event each year has a Murray State flavor of current and former runners.

Murray State sophomore Jay Nimmowho joins the Racers this fall after transferring from Mississippi State, was the amateur winner on scores of 67-70=137. Two other current runners competed in the tournament, including Tyler Powell who finished third (69-72=141) and John Buchanan who had scores of 74-77=151 for an 11e arrival point.

The top finisher among Racer men’s golf alumni included Hunter York with a second-place finish on scores of 71-69=140. MSU’s top finisher in the Professional Division was Duncan McCormick who had scores of 75-72=147 and a place in 10e square.

2022 Irvin Cobb Championships Final Results

Current Murray State players

1 Jay Nimmojay 67 70 137
3 Tyler PowellTyler 69 72 141
11 John BuchananJohn 74 77 151

MSU alumni

10 Duncan McCormick 75 72 147
13 Gabe Wheeler 78 75 153


2 Hunter York 71 69 140
4 Josh Rhodes 69 74 143
4 Carson Holmes 70 73 143
9 Chris Griffin 77 72 149
12 Daniel Taylor 77 75 152
20 Jamie Frazier 76 85 161

2022 Hall of Fame Dinner and Program
The annual Hall of Fame dinner will take place on the evening of November 11 at the CFSB Center. The Class of 2022 will also be recognized on Nov. 12 in the Racer football game against Robert Morris (1 p.m. kickoff) and a men’s basketball game against a yet-to-be-determined opponent. Hall of Fame dinner tickets can be purchased through the MSU online box office at GoRacers.com. https://am.ticketmaster.com/murray/2022hofdinner The Class of 2022 including Reggie Swinton and Mike Cherry (football), Michelle Wenning (WBB), Paul King (MBB), Melissa Spencer (tennis), Jessica Twaddle (softball), Dianne Woodside (athletics) and Cheryl Whitaker (administration).

Race Football Mini Ticket Plan
Three-game Race Football mini-packages are now available for purchase. The package includes a general admission ticket to the home opener against Jacksonville State (September 10), Eastern Illinois (September 24) and Robert Morris (November 12). The home opening will be an evening to remember as we “Light Up the Stew” and give away 3,000 blue and gold LED lightsticks presented by CFSB. The Racers return home two weeks later for the ever-popular “Family Weekend”, and end the season at home with Hall of Fame and Military Day. Fans can purchase their mini-plans here: https://am.ticketmaster.com/murray/2022footballminiplan Each purchase of a 3-game mini-plan will also include a general admission ticket to a basketball game at Racers’ home at CFSB Center during the 2022-23 season.

About Murray State Athletics
Located in Murray, Kentucky, the Murray State University Department of Athletics is a member of NCAA Division I and plays in the championship football subdivision. The Racers have 15 programs including men’s teams for baseball, basketball, cross country, soccer and golf and women’s teams for basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis , track and field and volleyball, as well as a mixed rifle team. . The Racers became a member of the Missouri Valley Conference on July 1, 2022. The Racers will become a member of the Missouri Valley Football Conference in 2023.


Comments are closed.